FollowMee  
Home
Map
App
Service
Support
Account
Contact Us
Search
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Support > How To     Login

How To Topics

How to run FollowMee GPS Tracker in an iOS device?

If you don't have a FollowMee account, you are required to register for one. Open the app and press the Start button. Select the registration option. If you already have an account, you can fill in your user name and password. If you have multiple devices to track, you can use the same account for each device. In this way, all your devices will appear on the same map.

Press the Continue button and the app begins to track. The device will request two permissions, one for location service, and the other for motion and fitness. For the location service, you need to grant "Always" permission. Please note that you will be asked for this permission again two days later. You are required to grant it again. Permission for motion and fitness is required because the app uses it to detect if it is moving or stationary. If you miss these permissions, you can fix them manually. Open the app and press the Menu button. It will show you the permissions that you have denied. Or you can open the Settings app by going to Home screen -> Settings -> FollowMee. Make sure location service, motion & fitness, background app refresh, and cellular data are all enabled.

The most frequent errors you might encounter include:

- This User Name does not exists. You have used an User Name that you have not registered. To solve this problem, simply go to the Settings screen and following the registration link to register your account.
- Either User Name or Password is not correct. To solve this problem, simply go to the Settings screen to re-type the correct credential.
- Location service is disabled. Following this FAQ for resolution.
- Motion and fitness is disabled. You need to enable it because the app uses motion to help its tracking.
- For other problems, please go to FAQ page.

To customize settings, press the Menu button on the app screen and select Settings. Explanation for each setting as follows:

User Name
User Name that is registered with FollowMee.com. If you want to track multiple devices under the same account, use the user name and password for this account

Password
Password that is registered with FollowMee.com

Login Token
If you need your users to install and set up the GPS tracker app in their devices and you cannot disclose your account info, the Login Token is your solution. This is a 12-character long string that linked to your account info. When your users enter it to the GPS tracker app setting, it sets up the app with your account user name and password. In this way, your users can set up the GPS tracker app without knowing your account password.

Lock Screen
Enabling this setting locks the screen with your account password. FollowMee is protected from being stopped or viewed by other people, or by the thief who just stole your iPhone. The account password is needed to unlock the screen. If you forget the password, there is no way to unlock it. Changing your password on our web site won't work.

Tracking Power
It specifies how aggressively the app will track. The default setting is medium, which gives you a new location update every 5 to 10 minutes. If you want more frequent update, choose the high setting, which updates every 1 to 2 minutes.

Track Schedule
Enable schedule to control when to start and stop tracking. Weekday and weekend schedules are provided. When enabled, the default start time is 8:00 AM and stop time is 5:00 PM. To set all day tracking, use 12:00 AM for start time and 11:59 PM for end time. To disable tracking, use the same time for both start time and stop time, for exmple, 12:00 AM for start time and 12:00 AM for end time.

You can set the start time to evening time and stop time to morning time, like 10:00 PM for start time and 7:00 AM for stop time. The GPS tracking app will start to track in the evening and continue till the morning time of the next day.

Full-time Vehicle Tracking Device
Enabling this setting turns your phone to a dedicated vehicle tracker. FollowMee tracks only when the vehicle is driven (when the phone is charged). Otherwise, FollowMee is in standby mode to conserve battery. To do it, simply place your phone in the vehicle and keep it plugged-in to the car power outlet. For more details, visit FAQ - What is Vehicle Tracking Device. If you carry your phone with you, you should not enable this setting.

Force Location When Stop
When the stop button is pressed, the app will force a location update before it stops tracking.

SOS Panic Button
The SOS Panic Button allows you to quickly call your specified telephone number, and to send out your current location by email during emergency. When enabled, this button will appear on the app screen, or the unlock screen if Lock Screen is enabled. When this button is touched, the following actions are taken place:

- Email is sent if Email Address field is not blank
- Phone number is called if Emergency Telephone is not blank. The call is made through the built-in dialer or VOIP if cellular service is not available
- If tracking is in stopped state, tracking will be started
- The app is put in SOS mode.

In the SOS mode, the app is optimized for more location update. For example, Track Schedule will be disabled and Track Interval will be set to 10 minutes if it was set to more than 10 minutes (for paid app users).

To reset SOS mode, you need to hold down the SOS button for 2 seconds. In additions, the SOS mode can be reset when you touch the Stop button to stop tracking. After the SOS mode is reset, the tracking is restored to its original state. If tracking is stopped before the SOS mode, tracking will be stopped after the reset.

Emergency Telephone
The telephone number to call when the SOS Panic Button is touched. If this field is blank, the app will not make any telephone call.

Email Address
The email address to send out the current location when the SOS Panic Button is touched. If this field is blank, the app will not send out any email.

Email Includes
The type of location that the email sends out. The default is current location. The email body includes an URL that reflects the real-time dynamic location. That means when the device location changes, the map that the URL points will reflect the change. Therefore, there is no need to send a second email.

This URL is in fact the shared current location URL. It shows the GPS location as well as the network location. It remains active until you remove it. To protect your privacy, it is recommended that you remove it when the emergency situation is over. You can remove it in the Account page.

Your Name / ID
This value will be sent out in the email body so that the recipient can identify you.

Enable VOIP
For iPad or iPod Touch, you can enable VOIP (Voice Over IP) so that the emergency call can be made through VOIP. A SIP account is required for this function. Not all sip providers work. Please try it before pay for an account.

SIP Domain
Registrar of your SIP provider. Example: sip.freecall.com

SIP User Name
User name of your SIP account with your provider

SIP Password
Password of your SIP account with your provider

Country Code
Country code of your emergency telephone number


 
Terms of Service     Privacy Statement     Mobile Optimized Site
Copyright © 2018 FollowMee LLC